Message Bored


aDam Rulz!
It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:03 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 86 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 11:27 am 
Offline
NDS Administrator
NDS Administrator
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 1:29 pm
Posts: 385
Location: I smell BBQ
I would think the commercial money is paid to the broadcaster which isn't the cable provider itself. They would have to work a deal for commercials paying for distribution as well. Of course, you can get some stations for free over the air if you really want :wink: If you're close enough to Detroit you can probably get some HD OTA as well.

_________________
"If I exercise my devils, well my angels may leave toooooooo"


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 2:57 pm 
Offline
King Koopa
King Koopa
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 11:52 pm
Posts: 4248
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Well yeah that's how I figure it works. It's just we pay Rogers and then they pay people for the channels. I would not be as upset about the settup if Rogers cable wasn't so damned expensive. For stuff like TMN and whatnot they only get what we pay them. So does NBC get money both from Rogers and advertisers or do only certain channels get paid by Rogers? 'cause if Rogers isn't paying them I don't think I should be paying much to Rogers for them.

_________________
Image
Image
The Reality Check Podcast


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 9:53 am 
Offline
Hammer Brother
Hammer Brother
User avatar
 WWW  YIM  Profile

Joined: Sat May 10, 2003 9:27 am
Posts: 716
Location: Asylumn for the Crimanally Insane
We get adverts on 3 and 4, but they don't get government funding, ie TV license money.

As for cable or Sky, it's that or Broadband. Sticking with Broadband folks.

_________________
The Poking Stick > You


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 11:47 am 
Offline
King Koopa
King Koopa
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 11:52 pm
Posts: 4248
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
But you guys pay for cable or satelitte seperately, right? Again with the double dipping.

_________________
Image
Image
The Reality Check Podcast


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 12:33 pm 
Offline
Hammer Brother
Hammer Brother
User avatar
 WWW  YIM  Profile

Joined: Sat May 10, 2003 9:27 am
Posts: 716
Location: Asylumn for the Crimanally Insane
Yes. You have to buy a seperate package.


Although, they governemt is going to phase it out so that everyone needs to buy cable/sky/freeview.

_________________
The Poking Stick > You


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 3:20 pm 
Offline
King Koopa
King Koopa
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 11:52 pm
Posts: 4248
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
What's that mean? Like everyone pays for cable/satelite just for having a TV?

_________________
Image
Image
The Reality Check Podcast


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 12:12 pm 
Offline
Hammer Brother
Hammer Brother
User avatar
 WWW  YIM  Profile

Joined: Sat May 10, 2003 9:27 am
Posts: 716
Location: Asylumn for the Crimanally Insane
Yep. Don't you just want to disembowl them slowly....

But, it might lower the cost of it.

Funny thing is though, they're gonna switch it off in Cumbria first, and we can't get digital at the mo.

Joy.

_________________
The Poking Stick > You


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 1:55 pm 
Offline
NDS Administrator
NDS Administrator
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 1:29 pm
Posts: 385
Location: I smell BBQ
So start that again Darth? You have no digital cable service available even right? Is there only so many channels to begin with then over analog? There's Sky which I assume is satellite but surely they offer hundreds of channels more then and digitally?

_________________
"If I exercise my devils, well my angels may leave toooooooo"


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 2:44 pm 
Offline
Hammer Brother
Hammer Brother
User avatar
 WWW  YIM  Profile

Joined: Sat May 10, 2003 9:27 am
Posts: 716
Location: Asylumn for the Crimanally Insane
You can get Sky via cable. but digital and Freeview no. And Analog is going to be switched off first here. The place with no digital. :evil:

_________________
The Poking Stick > You


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 3:41 pm 
Offline
King Koopa
King Koopa
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 11:52 pm
Posts: 4248
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Now I'm very communist and all and am all about having all of life's necessities being equally available to all rich and small and stuff.

That being said I really don't think that cable and satelitte are the kind of thing that everyone, even those who don't want them, should be paying for. There's really nothing that can be considered to be more of a luxury.

_________________
Image
Image
The Reality Check Podcast


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 11:46 am 
Offline
Hammer Brother
Hammer Brother
User avatar
 WWW  YIM  Profile

Joined: Sat May 10, 2003 9:27 am
Posts: 716
Location: Asylumn for the Crimanally Insane
Well this is Tony Blair folks...

God I hope he dies in a very painful way.

_________________
The Poking Stick > You


Top
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 86 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

All times are UTC - 5 hours



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group  
Design By Poker Bandits