Message Bored


aDam Rulz!
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 9:49 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

How big is aDam's TV?
Poll ended at Thu Sep 30, 2004 1:26 pm
42 inch 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
13 inch 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
32 inch 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
50 inch 100%  100%  [ 2 ]
Total votes : 2
Author Message
 Post subject: I hate aDam because...
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 1:26 pm 
Offline
Hammer Brother
Hammer Brother
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 4:06 pm
Posts: 693
Location: Ottawa
His TV is TOO big!

_________________
I love King Koopa


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 3:44 pm 
Offline
King Koopa
King Koopa
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 11:52 pm
Posts: 4248
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
12 inches.

.. Oh my TV? Yeah... ask me Saturday because I'm just not feeling total ownership of something that's in some warehouse in Toronto... despite the fact that I've paid for it.

_________________
Image
Image
The Reality Check Podcast


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 12:28 pm 
Offline
King Koopa
King Koopa
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 11:52 pm
Posts: 4248
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Not work safe.

_________________
Image
Image
The Reality Check Podcast


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 4:22 pm 
Offline
Hammer Brother
Hammer Brother
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 4:06 pm
Posts: 693
Location: Ottawa
Dude that is the Biggest Goat!

Awesome TV. So we are having a LotR EE marathon at y our house?

_________________
I love King Koopa


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 6:14 pm 
Offline
King Koopa
King Koopa
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 11:52 pm
Posts: 4248
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Not a bad idea as I've never seen them.

Just watched the greatest movie of all time, the Sailor Moon R movie, in super big super awesomeness. Very awesome.

_________________
Image
Image
The Reality Check Podcast


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 12:58 pm 
Offline
NDS Administrator
NDS Administrator
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 1:29 pm
Posts: 385
Location: I smell BBQ
Should I mention I luv Adam's tv? But man, I could do without that picture to remind me of the size. Bored at work on a Friday afternoon ... can't read Halden's blog anymore either ... guess I should git myself an avatar like you cool guys too eh.

_________________
"If I exercise my devils, well my angels may leave toooooooo"


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 4:37 pm 
Offline
King Koopa
King Koopa
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 11:52 pm
Posts: 4248
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Everyone should have a cool sexy avatar. My old board had a bunch of custom default ones that I really should get around to setting up at this board.

This is a such a "surf it from work" board. It's so SOP.

_________________
Image
Image
The Reality Check Podcast


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 4:51 pm 
Offline
NDS Administrator
NDS Administrator
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 1:29 pm
Posts: 385
Location: I smell BBQ
Just replying to see if my avatar gets added ...

_________________
"If I exercise my devils, well my angels may leave toooooooo"


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 4:53 pm 
Offline
NDS Administrator
NDS Administrator
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 1:29 pm
Posts: 385
Location: I smell BBQ
ehhhh, try number 2

_________________
"If I exercise my devils, well my angels may leave toooooooo"


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2004 9:19 pm 
Offline
King Koopa
King Koopa
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 11:52 pm
Posts: 4248
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Changes to avatars and sigs are retroactive on this board so you should never need to do a test post for that purpose.

So I got my Gamecube component cables in today. Pretty damned awesome. Set up F Zero which support progressive scan and wide screen. The 4 player mode looks like 4 1 player modes on a normal TV! The 1 player mode is crazy huge and blows away even my experience in playing the new F Zero arcade version at Gameworks in Chicago... except no stearing wheel.

Also put the Gamecube hooked up with the gameboy player which plays GBA games. Put it to "zoom" and it frames the top and bottom of the screen perfectly and fills out most of the width. More than 4:3 but less than 16:9. Every pixel still looks perfectly square with no fuzziness. It was crazy to play Pokemon on that and then go back to just the game. It was almost surprised you couldn't see each pixel clearly defined.

Now to find my Metroid Zero cartridge so I can hook up to Metroid Prime and try out classic NES metroid. I can play it on the dreamcast but, although massive, I think this will look better. We'll see.

_________________
Image
Image
The Reality Check Podcast


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 6:46 am 
Offline
NDS Administrator
NDS Administrator
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 1:29 pm
Posts: 385
Location: I smell BBQ
Obviously ya douhghead .... but that was after the fact eh ;o)

I think most gaming stations output at 480p? I'm going to assume that someone is going to bring out a widescreen box with HD and if not we should build one now. I know squat about the state of gaming 'cause I'm old though eh ... I think the game world was lessened when shoot'em up, karate'em up violence became the defacto standard ... all hail Defender.

_________________
"If I exercise my devils, well my angels may leave toooooooo"


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 4:07 pm 
Offline
King Koopa
King Koopa
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 11:52 pm
Posts: 4248
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
By default the cube is 480i but there are some games, like F-Zero, which are 480p. They say on the back of the box if they are. I'd say 5 or so of our games are. It's not all of them that's for sure.

The F-Zero wide screen is not a system option but a game specific option. It just sort of crunches the picture so you can wide screen it. I'm not sure if many other games support this option but I think maybe Metroid Prime does. I don't play first person shooters though so I'm not sure.

Fo' sho' the X-Box has progressive and all that. I think it's the best system for playing on a huge TV but I'm not into the games they have, except DoA Extreme Beach Volleyball, so I'm not about to get one.

PS2 only has s-video out and no component so it's gotta be 480i. I haven't set it up on the big TV yet. We're having controller issues. I passed up on buying those s-video cables today at Best Buy but I may go back and get them. They're not very hard to find. Not like the cube component cables.

_________________
Image
Image
The Reality Check Podcast


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 4:40 pm 
Offline
NDS Administrator
NDS Administrator
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 1:29 pm
Posts: 385
Location: I smell BBQ
I'm not sure the first part makes any sense on the cube though. Unless it outputs at both 480i and p it won't matter what the games are.

I would say the quality of the S-Video cables will matter very little. Buy whatever but that's just my opinion. ie ... I wouldn't spend $100 on Monster S-Video, there's no point

_________________
"If I exercise my devils, well my angels may leave toooooooo"


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 4:44 pm 
Offline
NDS Administrator
NDS Administrator
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 1:29 pm
Posts: 385
Location: I smell BBQ
Oh, what's the deal the component ... are they special on the no-tv end or something?

_________________
"If I exercise my devils, well my angels may leave toooooooo"


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 8:07 pm 
Offline
King Koopa
King Koopa
User avatar
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 11:52 pm
Posts: 4248
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Yeah these game systems don't actually have plugs for all these cables. They have a special connector which splits to something. Usually the normal output can take something that goes to coax, rca or svideo. The cube has an extra slot for a digital output. They're sort of like long USB slots and teh cable only has actual plugs at one end.

I couldn't find my Metroid Zero today but I put in Prime and it saved the NES Metroid mode on the memory card so I could still try it. I played Metroid through which is always fun. Didn't do the whole game really since I started with all the weapons. Just did energy tanks, missiles, mini bosses and mother brain.

_________________
Image
Image
The Reality Check Podcast


Top
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group  
Design By Poker Bandits