Message Bored
http://adamrulz.com/board/

chell this question
http://adamrulz.com/board/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=143
Page 1 of 1

Author:  count_nobbus [ Sat Apr 12, 2003 6:03 am ]
Post subject: 

aDam, you seem to know stuff about getting TV into a computer and stuff...

so how would i go about connecting my stereo to my computer, to convert my mix tapes to mp3?


(by the way, im working on a botsmaster remix type song thing. might get finished someday, might not)



Edited By count_nobbus on April 12 2003 at 06:05 am

Author:  aDam [ Sat Apr 12, 2003 8:00 am ]
Post subject: 

Well there are two ports in your computer that you can do it with. There's microphone and line in. You'd be better off using line in. Basically you'll need some sort of cable that converts whatever comes out of your stereo to the minijack size that goes into your computer. Make sure it's stereo too! Now I believe that end is the same size as the headphone jack for earphones. The other end depends on what your stereo outputs. If you've got cable of what normally comes out of you stereo you can go to radio shack or something with those and say you need a cable which will convert from that to something that will go into the line in on the computer. If you've already got that or something close you may be able to just get an adapter to make it work.

The whole in your computer you want to put this in is the green one if they're colour coded on your computer. The size of the jack will also be the same as the one that goes out to your speakers.

To record just make sure your line in isn't mutted in your volume control pannel. If you have windows you should have a program like "Sound Recorder" in programs>accessories>entertainment or something like that. You can use that software to record something to a .wav file.

Converting to .mp3 requires different software of which there are a bunch on the internet. I use "Acoustica" and it gets the job done.

Author:  count_nobbus [ Sat Apr 12, 2003 10:04 pm ]
Post subject: 

so if i buy a cable that connects my stereo output to my computer line in theres a 0% chance i can blow myself up?

great

Author:  aDam [ Sun Apr 13, 2003 12:20 am ]
Post subject: 

Well just keep it away from TNT and stuff.

Author:  count_nobbus [ Tue May 06, 2003 2:11 am ]
Post subject: 

it works fine but the cable and adapter were super expensive. they cost like $15 or something, which is a lot of money for someone who dosent have a job.

what about capturing from TV? is it possible to use the same cable to just get the sound, or do I need one of these capture cards I keep hearing about?

I want to make a song out of that show 'worst case scenario'. the host keeps saying all these wicked samples.

Author:  aDam [ Tue May 06, 2003 7:27 am ]
Post subject: 

Well capturing TV can be done a number of ways all of which require either a capture card or a video card with TV in. There's some that just have a coax in which are TV tuner cards. Those would have sound built in. Other cards, like the one I have, only take in video by either composite or s-video. I capture my sound in the same way as I described to you using my sound card and whatever cable.

Author:  KHYuffie [ Fri May 09, 2003 12:32 am ]
Post subject: 

my teacher's vinegar-y smell is hunting meh! >_<

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/